Yashica Electro 35

My dad gave me a Yashica Electro 35. I had not seen or heard of the camera before that. Now it has become my go to camera. I have liked rangefinders for quite a while. I have an Argus rangefinder but have never really connected to it. But I have been impressed by the Electro’s clarity of the lens and how user friendly it is. After i figured out a battery modification (I bought a six volt battery and a metal spring from the hardware store) I was ready to shoot.

With every camera there is a learning curve. My first roll had some out of focus and some poorly framed shots. Some of them came out cool, even if they were out of focus.

35403johyd051104-r1-027

The next couple of rolls came out better. I went on a photowalk with some nice results. This shot is of a dinning hall in the Ben Lomond Hotel in Ogden, Utah.

461570010012-2

The Yashica is great at capturing light.

461570010016-2

The only complaint I have with the camera, and it’s not even with the Yashica Electro, it is simply a difference between a rangefinder and a SLR. The rangefinder is flat. I have taken some landscape shots with the Electro with varying results. The clarity of the lens can make up for the flatness.

461570030013-2

The Electro has become my go to camera. It is quite and easy to use. Plus it is unique enough to hold my interest. The fixed lens has pushed me to zoom with my feet and know where my subject is in regard to framing more than using a DSLR with a zoom lens. If anyone is looking for a fun camera to get into film photography, I would highly suggest the Yashica.

Leave a Reply

